Miami homes

Paying Your Real Estate Taxes

Real Estate Taxes are collected on an annual basis by the Tax Collector's Office. The tax year runs from January through December.

Tax notices are mailed on or before November 1 of each year, with the following discounts offered:

  • 4% if paid in November
  • 3% if paid in December
  • 2% if paid in January
  • 1% if paid in February
  • Gross tax if paid in March, no discount applies

Real Estate Taxes become delinquent on April 1 of the following year in which they were assessed. As of April 1, a 3% penalty is added to the gross tax amount due

Homestead Exemption

  • State law allows Florida homeowners to claim up to a $50,000 Homestead Exemption on their primary residence.
  • The first $25,000 of this exemption applies to all taxing authorities.
  • The second $25,000 excludes School Board taxes and applies to properties with assessed values greater than $50,000.

Amendment 10 is a benefit of the homestead exemption that provides homeowners protection by limiting the maximum that the assessed value of their home for tax purposes can be raised to 3%, or the CPI whichever is lower (with some exceptions). Voters approved this amendment to the Florida Constitution, which was effective January 1, 1995.

Homestead Exemption for Seniors with Limited Income

The following criteria must be met to be eligible to renew the senior exemption:

1-At least one homeowner must be 65 as of January 1

2-The property owner must still qualify for homestead exemption

3-Household Adjusted Gross Income for everyone who lives on the Property cannot exceed statutory limits